Heart of Dakota Little Hands to Heaven

Today Vicki’s Heart of Dakota Little Hands to Heaven came in the mail. Of course as soon as she saw that there was a box it had to be opened.For the HOD LTTH we got the Little Hands to Heaven Guide,the A Child’s First Bible for ages 2-3(1st run through) and The New Bible In Pictures for Little Eyes for ages 4-5(2nd run through).What we chose not to get was the Big Thoughts for Little People and that is because it is also included in the MFW Voyage of Discovery Deluxe Package which is what we are waiting on to arrive…For the 2nd round of HOD LTTH we would need 2 additional items but that is still a way off.I have heard of homeschooling moms who use HOD LTTH through a 2 year span but when that time comes I will see if we can do another year of HOD LTTH or go to the next guide for HOD. That will also depend which we use as the main curriculum and which will just be extra.I *think* it will be MFW VOD but I’m not sure until I look over everything.

Just by looking at it briefly the program looks fantastic. It has little boxes that can be done through the day for an estimated amount 30 minutes a day. For V,I always did child led so even when it comes to preschool I encourage her to do at least 5-15 minutes of preschool whether it’s coloring, flash cards, reading and sometimes through games/play time. More often than not she doesn’t realize she’s doing preschool so with every play (games, toys) it’s very educational and beneficial for her.

I like the format because of the boxes it feels more “relaxed” to use vs MFW’s ‘typical’ schedule. Though I never exactly follow the entire curriculum and do everything that’s suggested I pick and choose what might suit her that day or over a span of several days we do on one day if she’s up to it.We don’t always follow a schedule though we do year around homeschooling.What I often end up doing is marking it finished in the manuel with the date, sometimes I will write notes and review notes as well in there.I could adapt to both ways.

It looks very fun and though it is still somewhat repeatitive it is a lot more fun and games than ABCJesusLovesMe.So, we are probably going to ditch ABCJesusLovesMe and not order the 4 year.We barely use it now so no sense in continuing.I think HOD LTTH and MFW VOD will be more than enough but I will look over MFW VOD just to be sure my decisions are accurate from my notes and what I might expect from Vicki this coming year.

Leave a Reply

